How are languages taught in Switzerland?
Thread poster: Deschant
Deschant
Deschant
Local time: 10:42
Jun 15, 2005

I wonder if any of you could tell me something about the teaching of languages in Switzerland in school and high school, i.e., is it compulsory for a German-speaking student to learn the other 3 official languages as well? When does a child start to learn these other languages (and foreign languages like English, Spanish...)? How many languages is a standard Swiss citizen expected to speak fluently when he/she leaves high school? Thanks a lot.

Rahel H.
Rahel H.  Identity Verified
Switzerland
Local time: 11:42
French to German
+ ...
It's being discussed.... Jun 15, 2005

Dear Eva

I am a teacher and have been teaching at Swiss primary and secondary schools for more than 10 years.

The question of the language teaching system is now being discussed a lot in Switzerland because some people want to change the system and others do not.

First of all, you should know that it is a myth that Swiss people speak four languages. Each of the four languages is spoken in its specific area and most people know only the language of the area
... See more
Dear Eva

I am a teacher and have been teaching at Swiss primary and secondary schools for more than 10 years.

The question of the language teaching system is now being discussed a lot in Switzerland because some people want to change the system and others do not.

First of all, you should know that it is a myth that Swiss people speak four languages. Each of the four languages is spoken in its specific area and most people know only the language of the area where they grew up.
Secondly, there is no such thing as a Swiss school system, every Canton has its own system.

The way languages are introduced at school is generally the following: